top of page

An unusual thesis experience and tips to survive!

I was a pre-dental Biological Sciences major, tutoring General Chemistry for LARC, and going into my third year of undergrad I had no idea what to do for my CHP Thesis. I was stressed and overwhelmed. Then one day I was at Coffee Hour lamenting about what to do for my thesis with no idea who to ask to mentor me, or even what department I was interested in and a fourth year was talking about her thesis work in the Dance Medicine and Science Department. We started talking, and another CHP student who was pre-physical therapy was working with Dr. Russell on her thesis as well and I thought it sounded interesting because of my experience as a competitive tap dancer. I emailed him on a whim thinking, "I'm a pre-dental bio major with zero connection to the Dance department, he might think I'm crazy" but I press send anyway expressing my interest in research in his department for my thesis because of my tap dancing history and I had an idea I'd like to explore.

One meeting and a little research later, we had developed an idea of creating pressure and accelerometer sensors to place in tap shoes to measure the amount of force being placed on tap dancer's feet - something that had never been done before. It was a lot of work, and we ended up working with the Engineering Department to develop the sensors and utilized motion detection sensors but as I worked and became involved, I realized it was actually fun because it was interesting to me and relevant due to my history of tap dancing. I ended up presenting my research at the International Association for Dance Medicine and Science and successfully completed my thesis with the mentorship of someone experienced with the CHP Thesis process. It was an invaluable experience although unusual and definitely had it's twists and turns but I am incredibly grateful for what I accomplished in a most unexpected way. I'm now a dentist, but this research experience was one of the most rewarding experiences of undergrad for me!

My tips:

1) Talk to the seniors/4th years - They have mentors who are already experienced with the CHP Thesis process and may have some research that you could expand on.

2) Find something you're interested in - Regardless of your major or future career, if there's something else you're mildly interested in, it might be worth exploring and you'll enjoy working on your these more!

3) Don't get discouraged - It may seem tough at times, but it's definitely doable and you will get through the process in one piece. Look towards your friends and alumni for support.

Keep your eyes open and good luck to all!

bottom of page